Gingerbread Men Recipe

Run, run, fast as you can,
You can’t catch me, I’m the gingerbread man!

~ The Gingerbread Man, a fairy tale

What did the Gingerbread Man put on his bed?
“A cookie sheet”

It’s not the worst festive joke out there; is it cracker worthy? I’ll let you decide.

The gingerbread man is widely associated with the holiday season along with Santa Clause and Frosty the snowman. But where did the tradition start? Well it has been dated back to the Middle Ages. Ingredients such as nutmeg, cinnamon, sugar, lard and dried fruits were prized as expensive and therefore these items were used by families in a baking bonanza making treats for friends and family. Our modern Christmas cookies date back to these medieval gifts.

History lesson over- Today has been cold chilly and wet thanks to Storm Barbara battering Northern Ireland so what better way to spend the Christmas Eve-eve than baking some festive goodies like our ancestors used to do in the old days.

wp-image-443946026jpg.jpg

Hope your day has been filled with good times. Are you getting into the Christmas spirit? It’s almost that day everyone gets excited for- “Tis the season to be jolly.” Why not enjoy in on the hype get out the festive jumpers, open the box of chocolates, switch on the Christmas music and get baking!

Ok I’ll admit I’m not the greatest baker out there; but I can make it work for me when I have the perfect methods. Making something 3 times or more to figure out the recipe. So my easy gingerbread recipe was sorted a few days ago, I just didn’t get round to posting it.. oops!

wp-image-852518726jpg.jpg

I must say they actually turned out well and I didn’t need to make them 3 times (only once) Although I didn’t put any icing on them to make them resemble humans with the eyes or shirt buttons etc. they don’t look that bad. If you use my recipe to make them you can of course make your cookies life-like.

I’m sharing my recipe with you guys to try out this Christmas as it is a season of giving; this is my gift to you. Hope you enjoy, it is relatively easy to follow not a lot of ingredients are needed- I kept to the traditional method as much as I could while keeping the recipe vegan & free from nasties.

Even vegan cookies can be healthy! How could you not want to be vegan 😉 Yes I realise I’ve said vegan 3 times not trying to tempt you at all!

Easy Gingerbread Cookies

  • Servings: 12-15 cookies
  • Time: 45 minutes
  • Print

Gingerbread men cookies for the holiday season.


Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour (plain, or gluten free)
  • 1 tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1 tsp. fresh ginger (grated)
  • 1/2 cup blackstrap molasses (or use brown sugar)
  • 1/2 cup vegan margarine (melted)

Directions

  1. Add all the ingredients to a large bowl mixing together
  2. Then kneed the mixture to a combined dough, roll the dough in a piece of baking parchment and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  3. Preheat the oven to 180degrees then line a tray with some more baking parchment .
  4. Remove the dough from the fridge, lightly flour a worktop surface, roll out the dough, cut using your desired shapes.
  5. Place cookies on the parchment and then bake for between 10-15 minutes- or until golden brown.
  6. Leave to cool once baked (to allow the soft cookie to harden into the biscuit) and if you decided to decorate them do so after about 5 minutes.
  7. Enjoy!

#StayGreen

Namaste.xx

Leave a Reply

