Zero Waste Month!

I’ve been wanting to do a zero waste challenge for a while now. I stumbled across the movement while researching the issue of single use plastic. I got intrigued to find out more so started watching lots of YouTube channels such as Eco Boost, Trash is for Tossers and Gittemary Johansen (to name only a few of my favourite zero wasters) I found out so much more about the damage our waste is doing to the environment. There are 2 billion coffee cups used by coffee shops in the UK and only 1 in 400 are recycled (with the lining in the paper being a thin plastic it can be difficult to recycle) It’s crazy to think about the amount of coffee cups alone being sent to landfill- and usually out live us.

So I had dedicated the month of February to my transition into zero waste living- I had made some swaps already which I will list below for you but over the month I will be adding more swaps to my lifestyle.
Also collecting all my ‘waste’ from this challenge in a large mason jar (what’s my aim? well to try and NOT fill the jar.) With a few days into the month I already have a few items in it (a broken hair tie, a wet wipe, plastic tag and a sticker from a book) I can’t wait to share with you my journey and the items I collect in this jar.

Swaps I’ve made so far:

  1. From plastic straws to stainless steel straws
  2. From plastic containers to glass containers
  3. From using tea bags to loose tea leaves & tea strainer
  4. From plastic bags to cloth totes & produce bags
  5. From packaged fruits and veggies to loose veggies
  6. From paper towels to micro fibre cloth towels

During the month I intend to:

  1. invest in a reusable water bottle
  2. invest in a reusable coffee cup for those coffees to go
  3. switch to a menstrual cup
  4. switch to using a cloth hankie
  5. switch to a bamboo toothbrush
  6. try make my own skincare products   

Hope you come by to enjoy my new series for the month of February! You’ll get to see me go through zero waste for a whole month; sharing my reviews and experiences through this challenge. Have you wanted to do this before? or are you currently zero waste? Let me know below in a comment.

Check out my social media

Twitter | Instagram  | Pinterest |  Bloglovin’ | Facebook

Love Leigh x

 

 

9 thoughts on “Zero Waste Month!

  1. This is amazing! I’ve been wanting to cut down on plastic waste too. I’m not quite at your level yet but I’ve made some small changes like getting a ceramic take-out coffee cup, water bottles & loose veg. I’m really looking forward to reading more about how you find it during the month! Good luck x

    Like

  2. sapphiregirl5

    This is such a great idea! I can’t believe I’d never heard of it before! I’ll definitely look into it more. Thanks for sharing!❤️

    Like

  3. Nicole

    I have also been trying to reduce waste… I haven’t got anywhere close to zero yet, but I’ve been trying to be a lot more mindful about what I buy and whether it includes waste I’ll have to throw away. Best of luck with your challenge!

    Like

  4. Hi There! We are looking for experienced people that might be interested in from working their home on a part-time basis. If you want to earn $100 a day, and you don’t mind creating some short opinions up, this is the perfect opportunity for you! Simply click the link here NOW!

    Like

Leave a Reply

