Brilliant Burrito Bowl

YACHT CLUB.png

So I’m back with another Recipe Wednesday for you guys! This time I’ve gone for a burrito bowl; simply because I love to make them! You can basically use any veggies you like in this concoction packed with nutrients and a range of flavours what’s not to love about that! Since I went vegan I’ve not had to worry about calorie counting or restricting what I eat (other than the animals obvs.) so binging on a jam packed bowl of veggies is a great way to enjoy food.

So you like Chipotle & Boojum? But want a healthier less oily version of the burritos / burrito bowls? well this vegan recipe will be for you! You’ll be left feeling full of energy and ready to take on the rest of the day. Keeping the motor running; due to all those nutrients being took!

To make the recipe more Mexican- to the rice base I added lime juice! *Quick tip- add the lime juice after boiling the rice! Oh and topped with the most amazing chunky salsa I ever created. I shall be adding the salsa creation to the recipe below; do check it out!  GEDC0073.JPG

I ate this colourful bowl for lunch while watching some zero waste YouTube videos for inspiration on the new lifestyle choice I’m embarking on. This lunch kept me feeling full even past the time my family were making dinner 6 hours later! I wrote 2 blog posts scheduled the publishing of them & had a driving lesson. A lunch that truly helped me stay energised throughout the busyness of the day! Give it a try! You’ll love it.

Brilliant Burrito Bowl Recipe

  • Servings: 3-4
  • Time: 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A beautiful bowl packed with nutrients, colour & great flavours.


Ingredients

    For the bowl
  • 2 cups rice
  • 4 cups water
  • juice of 1/2 a lime
  • 1 tin of beans (black beans or kidney beans)
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tin of sweetcorn
  • 2 bell peppers (red and green)
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 tsp. vegetable oil
  • a handful of spinach
  • For the salsa
  • 4 tomatoes
  • 1 red onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 3 tbsp. coriander
  • 3/4 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/2 lime juice
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. chilli flakes

Directions

    For the bowl
  1. Boil the water on a medium heat, then add the rice to the water cook according to the directions on the rice pack (Usually about 30 minutes)
  2. While the rice is cooking prepare the rest of your bowl; Mince the garlic cloves, slice the peppers and onion into strips.
  3. In a frying pan heat the oil on a medium heat add the sliced peppers and onion to fry for approximately 5 minutes.
  4. Heat the beans with the minced garlic in a pot (heat the corn if you prefer the corn warm; I leave mine cold)
  5. For the salsa cut the tomatoes into chunks, slice the onion & garlic added all to a bowl with the coriander, salt, lime juice, cayenne pepper & chilli flakes mx together (you can pulse this mixture in a processor if you want the salsa to be smoother rather than chunky)
  6. By now the rice should be soft; add the lime juice to the rice stir the rice to coat it evenly.
  7. Now it’s time to assemble the bowl; add the spinach to the bowl with the fried veggies, rice, beans, corn top with your salsa (if you enjoy guacamole add this too; I dont like it so I opt to not add this)

I challenge you to give a burrito bowl a go; it is so much fun to create and to eat! With so many different flavours and textures in the bowl your palette will thank you for it! Let me know if you have had a burrito bowl before; what were your experiences? Did you enjoy it? or simply tell me you will give it a try. Thanks for giving this a read! Now get cooking lovelies!

 

Check me out on social media

Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram |

Love Leigh

11 thoughts on “Brilliant Burrito Bowl

  1. This looks delicious! What I love about vegan mexican food is how cheap it usually is to make, but it doesn’t stop it from being super tasty. Thanks for the recipe, I’ll definitely be giving this a try!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Taste Test | Quorn Vegan Nuggets | Sophia Leigh

  3. Pingback: Chickpea ‘tuna’ Sandwich Filler | Sophia Leigh

  4. Pingback: Potato Curry Recipe | Sophia Leigh

  5. Pingback: The Hooba SLT Recipe | Sophia Leigh

  6. Pingback: Top Attractions in Paris

Leave a Reply

