Cruelty Free Hair

Cruelty-Free Hair.png

I’ve been colouring my hair for years; tried many brands of hair dyes from salon dyes to home kits. Everything!  And I think the only colour I haven’t tried is pink. Though I’m not that much of a pink fan to wear it constantly on my head; but I won’t say that it’ll not happen, because you never know when I could change my mind. Tends to have a habit of that.
Before I went vegan I used some hair dyes that were not cruelty-free; I know it’s awful poor bunnies! But I didn’t know any different, and I would think for most of you it would be the same. I used XXL Live by Schwarzkopf (they test on animals)

wp-1484846640391.jpgNow I use brands like Jerome Russell & Crazy Colour (both of which do not test on animals) The colour & brand used in this photo was a mix of Crazy Colour Pine Green & Blue Jade; which I had for over a year now however I have decided to change my hair colour again. I wanted to go purple so I bleached my hair to go blonde before adding my new colour. wp-1486827682943.jpg

But I have enjoyed being blonde for a while now and have delayed putting the purple in; oops! I did already purchase the purple hair dye so I will have to use it sooner or later. I bought the Violet dye from Superdrug’s new Pick n Mix range; so I will post a review of this new dye when I finally decide to use it. Let’s see how good it really is. With the chalk effect in the range that goes along with it.

But for now I will share with you how to find cruelty-free brands & which hair companies that currently test on animals; If you like this post let me know if you would want to see a skincare version.

What to look for

20161023_111442-1.jpgLogos; these certify if a brand is cruelty free usually a product will display the leaping bunny logo. Internationally recognised logo for cruelty-free items.

However not all products that do not test on animals will have the logo displayed, in which case the website PETA database for companies that do not test on animals is the next best thing to use; They do have an app called Bunny Free available on both Apple and Android this is a great app to have as their database of all the brands that do not test on animals is right at your fingertips.

Some hair dye companies that DO test on animals 

  • L’Oreal
  • Schwarzkopf
  • John Frieda
  • Wella
  • Garnier
  • Clairol
  • Revlon

** At the time of writing; these companies were not cruelty-free if that has however changed let me know I will update it.

Companies that DON’T test on animals

  • Superdrug
  • Colour Freedom
  • Jerome Russell
  • Herbatint
  • Ecocolors
  • Crazy Colour
  • Manic Panic

** At the time of writing this post; these companies were clearly mentioned as cruelty-free, if they have changed now do let me know I will update it.

 

I hope you find this post useful in any way, do you dye your hair? What brands do you use? Let me know in the comments below; don’t forget to come back about check out my review on the new Superdrug Pick n Mix range of hair colour.

While you’re here check out my social media

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | Facebook | Pinterest

Love Leigh xx

9 thoughts on “Cruelty Free Hair

  1. Alixlouise

    I love this post because it’s something you just don’t think about when you are buying hair dye!! But I’m definitely going to make sure I check before I buy now! X

    Like

  2. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will be sure
    to bookmark your blog and definitely will come
    back in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great work, have a nice weekend!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Until Every Cage is Empty | Sophia Leigh

  4. Pingback: Things You Hear Being Vegan | Sophia Leigh

  5. Yaritza

    What kind of bleach do you use ?! I’ve been looking for one that’s cruelty-free and haven’t had much luck 😓. Please HELP !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

