Zero Waste Pita Bread Recipe

Vegan + Zero Waste.png

It is Wednesday which means another recipe for the blog; I know last week I didn’t post a recipe simply because I took a week off! So I am back at it once again- today I decided to share with you a recipe for zero waste vegan pita bread simply made with 4 ingredients, cannot get much more minimal than that!

Last month I decided to make my own pitas because I couldn’t find a place that sells them without plastic packaging so I refused to buy the packaged ones and decided if I am really wanting them why not just create them myself. That way they are completely vegan I know exactly what I put in them & they are quirky homemade little pieces of bread. The recipe I will share below makes about 4 medium sized pitas- however it will depend on how you cut your dough; you can cut it to make 2 large ones or little mini ones. GEDC0423.JPG

Now usually pita bread or any bread in that case is cooked in the oven; but me being the lazy want-everything-cooked-quick vegan decided to cook them in a dry non-stick frying pan for 5 minutes instead of 45 minutes in the oven. They tasted just as good maybe even better than shop bought pitas!

Recipe

Ingredients

1 cup of plain flour
1 tsp. of baking powder
1 tsp. of salt
3/4 cup of warm water (not boiling and not cold- just luke warm)

Method

1. Mix the flour, baking powder, salt and water in a bowl until a dough forms. Roll the dough in your hands making sure there is no cracks in the dough- place the dough back in the bowl leave to rise for 15 minutes.
2. Get a large non-stick frying pan heat on a low-medium setting- while your pan is heating slice your dough into 4 sections, roll out your dough 1 at a time leaving a 1mm thickness or more if you want a thicker bread.
3. Place your dough in the pan cook on one side for about 3 minutes and then the same on the other side
4. Place up your pita bread and serve!

This recipe is a quick and simple one to follow; I did enjoy creating it & eating all the pitas I made! I hope you do give this recipe a go- these little pieces of bread are great with curries, chillies or just any dish you decide to make! Maybe even give them as a gift to your bread loving friends or family. If you do decide to make them let me know tag me in your Instagram photos @sophialeighblog or use the hash tag #GreenieVegan. I love seeing your creations. Have a great day & happy cooking lovelies!

Want to check out my other recipes?
Chickpea + Celery Curry Recipe
Spicy Pasta & Corn Salsa Recipe
Soy Kheema Recipe
Salted Chilli Tofu Recipe

Follow me on social media

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Bloglovin’

Love Leigh xx

4 thoughts on “Zero Waste Pita Bread Recipe

  1. Pingback: Minimal Carry on Packing | Sophia Leigh

  2. Pingback: Chickpea ‘tuna’ Sandwich Filler | Sophia Leigh

  3. Pingback: Healthy Tofu Stir-Fry | Recipe | Sophia Leigh

Leave a Reply

