Things You Hear Being Vegan

veganism.png

You think being vegan is full of goodness grass and roses; but there are some annoying things that people will say about you being vegan or about veganism in general that you might not know about; or you may have heard and you agree with me on this. These are ones I have personally heard and my opinion on the phrases! Hope you enjoy my little rant post!

“Do you get enough B12?”

What are you a self qualified nutritionist now? Since when did my B12 levels matter to you? I was vegetarian before being vegan so why was my lack of meat consumption so important now? Thank you for the concern but I think I do get enough from both supplements and my fortified plant based milks. Worry about your own health buddy.

“Aren’t vegans suppose to be skinny”

This one annoys me; simply because the assumption is very offensive. We all have different body types some people are naturally petite due to high metabolism. I however am one of the lucky vegans who retain their food over their hips butt and thigh areas yay me! Although I eat mainly wholefoods and less processed foods, there are ‘bad’ vegan food out their like Chilli Doritos, Bourneville Chocolate etc. These items can make difficult to be that ‘skinny’ stereotype.

“Does eating lettuce not get boring?”

Nope there’s a range of lettuces to munch through sometimes I even go all out and eat some fallen leaves, how crazy is that?

“Bacon tho!”

The smell of cooking flesh turns my stomach so no I don’t miss munching on dead animals; bacon is so fatty and disgusting to me now, but before I went vegan I did enjoy bacon. after a year of a clean wholefood vegan diet I wouldn’t go back my tastebuds have improved and I now eat some veggies I previously disliked such as tomatoes. You can keep your bacon comments to yourself buddy!

“You must think you’re better than everyone else”

This is one I’ve heard once; which I thought was so rude- I am not pretentious or anything like that. If you really know who I am as a person you would know this is completely inaccurate. Being vegan is not being stuck up- it is simply understanding that choices have consequences and that my choices will have no hurt or harmful consequences on animals or me. Receiving negative comments is something you will always get no matter what you do but we have to remember we are doing the thing that makes us happy and being a more considerate person is what makes me happy and gives me joy in life knowing I am doing something to change the world in which we live in.

This post- can you tell I was a little annoyed at the time of writing it? haha I thought I would share some of the things a vegan hears at least once in their lives- do you hear some of these? maybe something different comment below. If you are not vegan I hope these phrases don’t put you off switching, haha.

Follow my updates on social media

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | Pinterest

Like this post? Check out some of my other posts:

Lets Talk Happiness

Fluffy Blueberry & Chocolate Pancakes | Recipe

Cruelty Free Hair

6 Words of Wisdom!

My Ultimate Bucket List

Love Leigh

 

 

12 thoughts on “Things You Hear Being Vegan

  1. allpurelyplants

    BHAHA Love ” You must think that you’re better than everyone else.” The BEST one I’ve heard to date was about a month ago. MY BOSS came up to me and said, ” Are you even healthy?!” And then proceeded to tell me that she’d go out and get a pig, slaughter the pig and then eat the pig right in front of me. PEOPLE ARE NUTS. Loved this post. Keep doing your thangggg. xoxo

    https://purelyplantsblog.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. I can’t believe some people have told you these things! It’s crazy how ignorant people could be about some topics. On the side note of bacon, there is fake bacon made of tofu which is really good! You can have foods that taste like meat even though they aren’t. I remember when I was in middle school and my friend became a vegetarian and showed me all the amazingly delicious things that vegetarians have at their disposal! Loved this post love xxx

    Melina | http://www.ivefoundwaldo.com

    Like

  3. I think it is great that you are doing your own thing.
    Don’t listen to other people that say stupid stuff. I am not a vegan, but I would never say this kind of thing to vegans because I know they hear it enough. One that my friend struggles with instead of: bacon, though! is : cheese, though!
    I think when everybody just respects each other, it’s all good. Never understood the whole struggle between foodies.
    There’s lots of yummie recipes out there and I’m sure you’re getting plenty of good stuff.
    For one thing it is already a lot healthier than my diet haha 😉

    Like

  4. i love this! I’ve personally been considering going vegan and I’ve dropped a couple foods out of my diet such as chicken but I’m not at a point where I can just drop everything! I admire you though!

    Like

    1. Thank you- I would say it is a good thing you aren’t giving it up all at once it can get overwhelming as I did that years ago but rather taking it one step at a time you will get there. Keep going you’re doing great so far! x

      Like

  5. Pingback: My Top 5 TV Shows | Sophia Leigh

  6. Pingback: Horse Racing is Animal Abuse | Sophia Leigh

Leave a Reply

