Chickpea ‘tuna’ Sandwich Filler

I have slacked a little when it comes to recipe posts; so I am starting to get back into the flow of things again. I am starting off with my go-to sandwich filler which is a Chickpea ‘tuna’ mock with added sweetcorn & spring onion for added flavours. I was one of those who always had a tuna sandwich at school or a tuna pasta salad but over time I grew to hate the smell & taste of tuna turning to the chickpea was a gift! Thanks to a friend from a Vegan Facebook Group who recommended me to give a tuna mock sandwich a go because I was lacking inspiration at the time. Since then I have developed the ‘tuna’ to my taste & adding veggies I like. I am sharing that information with you to use and develop your own style; hope you enjoy.

5 health benefits of chickpeas:
1. Detoxifies Sulphites
2. Heals skin
3. Induces peaceful sleep
4. Controls Diabetes
5. Strengthens hair

So why wouldn’t you want to use chickpeas instead? I wish I discovered this SO much sooner than I did because it is honestly my favourite sandwich to make either for me or my family and friends; who have also came to enjoy it. I would love it if you too would give this recipe a try, save at least 1 tuna fish today by making the switch to chickpeas for your sandwich.

The Recipe
Ingredients

  • 1 tin of chickpeas (or 1 cup of dried chickpeas soaked in water)
  • 1 spring onion
  • 1/2 tin of sweetcorn (or 1/2 cup of frozen corn- defrosted)
  • 4 tbsp. of vegan mayo
  • 1/4 tsp. of black pepper
  • 2 slices of bread (or a sandwich bun)
  • lettuce & tomatoes (optional)

Method

    1. Drain the tin of chickpeas then empty into a large bowl & mash until you get a tuna like consistency
    2. Cut the spring onion finely; then add the spring onion to the bowl along with the sweetcorn
    3. Mix together; then add the mayo & black pepper to the bowl mix until combined
    4. Get your bread; add some vegan spread if desired then scoop some of the chickpea mixture onto one slice; add your salad and form your sandwich; cut in half however you please
    5. Dig in and enjoy your mock tuna sandwich
    I hope you enjoy this quick sandwich recipe; as it is Springtime & good weather looms Picnic season is about to start so what better way to start it off than with a good filling sandwich to use on a picnic. I guarantee it will be loved by children & parents alike!
    Want more recipes? Check these out:

Pita Bread Recipe

Fluffy Blueberry & Chocolate Pancakes | Recipe

Brilliant Burrito Bowl Recipe

Salted Chilli Tofu Recipe

Baked Peri Peri Cauliflower Bites

 

    Follow me for updates on social media

Twitter |Instagram |Bloglovin’ |Facebook |Pinterest

    Love Leigh x

 

4 thoughts on “Chickpea ‘tuna’ Sandwich Filler

  1. Pingback: Healthy Tofu Stir-Fry | Recipe | Sophia Leigh

  2. Pingback: Potato Curry Recipe | Sophia Leigh

  3. Pingback: The Hooba SLT Recipe | Sophia Leigh

  4. Pingback: Spiced Squash Recipe | Sophia Leigh

Leave a Reply

