Flapjacks Recipe | Guest Post

Today’s recipe is another guest recipe post from my friend Bryony who decided to share her favourite go-to flapjack recipe from bbcgoodfood.com. Bryony has shared the recipe and has also outlined below why she is vegan; give it a read and let me know what you think in the comments below. 

Why am I vegan?

I have been vegetarian for a couple of years, but only been vegan for about six months (although it is difficult to give an exact time period, as it was a very gradual transition for me).

Veganism is something I had been aware of and surrounded by for a long time. For example, I have volunteered in a vegetarian and vegan café for the last four years and I know several people who are vegan. For the last couple of years I have become more and more passionate about taking care of the environment and all of the living things in it, as I have become more and more aware of the carelessness of mankind and the huge positive impact we could have on protecting our planet if we thought more carefully about our actions – eating a vegan diet, recycling, reducing food waste… The list goes on. Humanity has become so dominating and, quite frankly, destructive.

I was hesitant about going vegan due to having a past history of struggling with an eating disorder. I was worried whether it was a healthy decision for me, both mentally and physically, and I was worried about what my family might say and think. However, morally it really did feel like a transition I wanted to make, so I decided to do my research and went about it very slowly and sensibly, making sure that I wasn’t relapsing in any way.

Now, several months down the line, I am eating a plant-based diet and feel much happier and healthier for it! I also feel more confident in myself and more positive. I see the world in a different light – frequently observing and appreciating life and the world I live in. I feel more excited about the food I can eat and the meals I can make. I have always enjoyed cooking and baking, but love it even more now!

Eating meat and other animal products is an unnecessary habit which we have been fooled into thinking is OK. I too am guilty for being made to think we need to eat meat and dairy in order to be healthy. Now I know this is not the case, I want to inspire people, showing them how amazing being vegan really is! 😀

I don’t often make the same thing all of the time; I prefer to keep trying new things, but this is one recipe which I always go back to! I love these flapjacks for breakfast (sometimes I even warm them up in the microwave a little bit), with some plain Alpro soya yoghurt, chopped banana and some seeds/nuts/dried fruit sprinkled on top. Or, they are also great as a snack and an energy boost!

The texture of them is great – dense, yet still soft and with lots nice nutty/seedy texture to them!
flapjacks.jpg

Recipe

Ingredients

50g soya butter (plus a little extra for greasing)
2 tbsp peanut butter (smooth or crunchy, whichever you prefer!)
3 tbsp maple syrup
2 ripe bananas (mashed)
1 apple (peeled and grated)
100ml hot water
250g rolled oats
185g dried fruit (chopped if large) of your choice (e.g. apricots, dates, raisins…)
85g mixed seeds (e.g. flaxseeds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds…)
Sometimes I add a pinch of spice – cinnamon/nutmeg/mixed spice…

 

Method

  1. Heat the oven to 160C/140C fan/gas 3.
  2. Grease and line a 20cm square tin with baking parchment.
  3. Heat the butter, peanut butter and maple syrup in a small pan until melted. Add the mashed banana, apple and 100ml hot water, and mix to combine.
  4. Tip the rolled oats, dried fruit and seeds into a large bowl.
  5. Pour in the combined banana and apple mix and stir until everything is coated by the wet mixture.
  6. Tip into the cake tin and level the surface.
  7. Bake for about 55 minutes until golden. Leave to cool in the tin.
  8. Cut into 12 pieces to serve or store in an airtight container in the fridge. They will keep for up to 3 days. Or you can freeze some and save them for a later date (they then might not taste quite as good, but they’re still OK).

***Recipe from the following website***: https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/3028699/feelgood-flapjacks

I hope you have enjoyed this post from Bryony; These flapjacks sound tasty & I hope to try them out soon. Have you made your own flapjacks before, what did you use? If you would like to send your favourite recipe or one you created yourself to be featured on my Recipe Guest Post Series? Send them to imsophialeigh@gmail.com.

Want to check out other recipes in this series?

Spiced Squash Recipe
The Hooba SLT Recipe
Potato Curry Recipe
Cauli Balti Recipe

Read some of my latest posts here:

The Holy Grail of Skincare
I Ditched Bras and Heres Why
Top Attractions in Paris
Things You Didn’t Know About Me

Keep up to date on social media

Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Bloglovin’ | Pinterest

 

One thought on “Flapjacks Recipe | Guest Post

Leave a Reply

